MAKING A RAINY DAY SUNNY

***NEWS FLASH***
This will be my 50th post on ‘When the cats in Hong Kong’. I feel this a big deal, a milestone. I’ve kept up with it, I’ve persevered and actually developed a bit of a hobby and a habit. Long live the blog!


C360_2014-08-01-15-19-43-147

British Summer Time well and truly kicked the bucket today, in true Brit fashion the heavens opened and put an end to the beautiful sun-filled days we’ve been having. It was also metaphorically a bit of a rainy day for me too, after a visit to the Doctors I was put on to medication with strict instruction not to drink any alcohol as they are some of the few antibiotics that don’t mix well with alcohol. Usually this wouldn’t bother me, but with the course of tablets taking me up to the day I leave I was a bit miffed. I was looking forward to enjoying some fruity cocktails with my long-suffering best friend and relaxing with a glass of celebratory wine on the eve of my departure.
It’s not the end of the world, I know that. Apart from that, the fact I have to make another visit to the doctor has also temporarily halted my excitement.

My negativity didn’t last for too long though, as shortly after my appointment I was whisked away for a lovely lunch with Pauls mum! After a cup of tea, ham, egg and chips and a good chat my mood was back up to happy again and I completely forgot about the morning! It felt great to talk about my upcoming adventure with someone who talked so positively about it all. I don’t think people realise they’re doing it, but you often get asked questions that seem harmless but they make you think about things you don’t want to think about yet, questions about coming home, getting jobs some people have even asked what I’ll do if it doesn’t work out. I’ll come home.

With a belly full of food and a heart full of happiness we made our way home, the weather looking a bit better. Back home I lay on my bed, wishing that my food would digest as I’d soon be heading off to my second meal of the day. Being a girl that usually eats one meal a day (I know, it’s bad) I was wondering why I had made this commitment.
But soon, I was sat next to my BFF Katie as she drove us to the glorious Trafford Centre, in the torrential rain.

We opted for Wokooshi, my favourite Asian restaurant in the Trafford Centre. Because I’m not sure I’ll be able to get Asian food, when I’m uhmm.. living in.. Asia..
I love Wokooshi because when Paul and I first seriously talked about going abroad, we were sat in that restaurant. Pretty soppy but I’m a sentimental kind of girl. Also, the food is delicious.
C360_2014-08-01-17-27-08-101
After some duck norimaki and king prawn teppanyaki I was ready to shop.. and also full to my eyeballs with food.

I finally got my flight outfit sorted! I have this plan in place, comfort – in the form of leggings, a t shirt and a hoody on my first flight. After a quick refresh in Dubai I’m going to swap in to a slightly more pretty outfit, still wearing leggings, and then when I’m close to HK the leggings are coming off and the legs will be out. I have to look good when I’ve not seen the boyf in 2 and a half months! I’m gonna look fresh as hell! I hope. I really hope. I have some essentials, mini essentials. Tooth paste, mouthwash, deodorant, make up. I refuse to look less that OK when I get to HK for the first time.

After a fruitless search for a ‘trolley coin’ (a fake pound coin you can use in shopping trolleys, gym lockers and anything else that requires a refundable pound coin’.
We made our way home, Katie got some Poopoo snuggles..
C360_2014-08-01-20-43-59-162

And I witnessed my mum purposefully poke her finger in to my ‘pet spiders’ web, and watched her recoil in horror as pet spider raised it’s front legs up in a defensive pose.
After forcing my mum to order me a J-Pillow, I made my way to bed, walking through our strangely long house I nearly squealed myself to death because my dog is so cute

20140801_222248

Curled up on her mummys (me) coat. I pretended in my head she did it because she knows I’m leaving soon, but really, she does it periodically. She’s so cute.

Well, this has been an extraordinary long, informative and mostly humourless post. I’m now looking forward to some sleep so that I can *hopefully* wake up to good news about our desperate attempts to secure a flat in Hong Kong.

Sarah

Tell me what you think..

