SARAHS KITCHEN NIGHTMARES.

IMAG1170_BURST002

Another drizzly, gloomy and grey day in Hong Kong. I actually had the urge to go out and do something today and found myself getting dressed and ready to go out soon after I got up, which is really bizarre for me especially as I didn’t get my early more caffeine fix due to PJ being in China.

I’ve calmed down after yesterdays rageburst. A takeout (it was only soup and a sandwich!) and a night watching Netflix and playing Tomodachi Life sorted me out. So, today I felt refreshed and wanted to do something productive. We’ve been in our apartment since September and every week we complain about something or other.. the kitchen is too small, the ‘office’ is unorganised, the bed is mouldy. Yeah, humidity and spilt water don’t mix. Don’t worry it’s sorted now, the only fungus in our apartment is any that might grow on PJ.

Anyway, the point I’m getting to is that we most oftenly complain about the kitchen. It’s pathetically small, however we are lucky to have our kitchen separate from our living area. You don’t have to be assaulted by the smell of your tea cooking whilst you’re in the living room and if there’s a wash on (which there is practically every day) you can close the door so the spinning doesn’t give you a headache. I appreciate this, I really do. But it is a pain in the ass to cook in, especially as I wanted an oven which takes up most of our counter space. I have a surface area of aboutΒ 7 cm2 oh no my writing has gone all small now.

Oh there we go. So I’ve been trying to figure out ways of making our kitchen area tidier and a little bit prettier without having to set up a makeshift pantry area in the living room. I went to my favourite bargain store in Hong Kong – Living Plaza. It’s a freaking pound shop but so much better than the ones in England. The products are of a pretty good quality and you can get the kind of crap that people who frequent DIY blogs and Pinterest would give a lung for. There’s awesome baking utensils and craft stuff which I really want to get into but really cannot be bothered. They also have this section that I’ve never noticed until the other day. It’s basically a ‘make your own shelving system’ section. With all sorts of metal wire sections and baskets and hooks. So I raided it.

I started off with this..

IMG-20150304-WA0008~2

But then I went back and got more and that became this..

IMAG1183_1

And now I want to go back and get more and continue it on every spare wall in the apartment but I think it would start to resemble a pop-up shop if I do that.

I’m quite pleased with it, it’s not really freed up space as such. It’s made everywhere look tidier as there’s no spices lining the window ledge and there’s no risk of any bottle or boxes falling out the window like my beef stock pots. Also, there used to be a ton of stuff on top of the oven which was a terrible fire risk.. but that’s all gone now.

And the best part is that it only cost me around Β£12!

Now I’m just keeping my fingers crossed that my sticky hooks don’t give in and make it all come crashing down.

That’s all from me today, I’ll leave you with this.

IMAG1179~2

Watch out ladies, there’s a bloody big lion looking at you!

4 thoughts on “SARAHS KITCHEN NIGHTMARES.

  1. Ooh, those shelves are a great idea πŸ˜€

    We live in Tuen Mun atm, so we have quite a good sized kitchen, but we’re moving to Prince Ed in September and it has an open kitchen which is pretty small…so we’ll see how that goes :p

    Also I got really excited because we have the exact same cocoa powder and marshmallows. Man, they smell bloody amazing!

    Like

    • Ahhh I long for a decent sized kitchen still! We’re looking at moving but will still be on the island so still will be a small kitchen 😦 the shelves are awesome until you forget about them and come home and they’ve fell on the floor and there’s herbs everywhere 😦 but otherwise they’re really good! And yess, that cocoa is lovely πŸ™‚

      Like

Tell me what you think..

