Nobu? No, boo.

 

Oh how times change so quickly.

Just this weekend I was fine dining at Nobu Hong Kong, this Wednesday afternoon I’m looking at ‘Top 50 Ground Beef Recipes’ online whilst listening to the sweets sounds of a snoring, overweight dog and the noises of the mechanic shops below our apartment.. all of which are complemented by the power ballads that someone on our street is playing a bit too loud (but the only complaint I have is that they skipped Bohemian Rhapsody.).

I’ve always been aware that Nobu is quite the celebrity spot, at least the branches in New York, LA and London are, but now that I’ve looked in to their clientele I’m disgusted that I’m now part of the elite along with the Kardashians (blergh.). Because of that I can now only assume that Nobu is the ‘Nando’s’ of the celebrity world.

That being said, the food was good. My miniscule meal of 4 chunks of pork belly was DELICIOUS and the soft shell crab hand roll was spot on. The dessert I had of mini donuts with stout ice cream and candied bacon was.. so so and all of it tasted like shit when it came back up my throat for a couple of seconds after I saw just how much money had been spent within a 60 minute sitting.

20160514_210601

Some donut holes, with ice cream.. and bacon.

20160514_202604

If you look very closely, you may see some pork belly.

The service was great, the views of the harbour were fantastic and the restaurant itself was lovely. But I ultimately left with a somewhat unsatisfied belly wondering what all the fuss, and the expense, was for.

IMG_20160518_131358

Sipping on a virgin mojito and admiring the view with the back of my head.


If Japanese food is what you crave, try..

Jan Jan Kushikatsu – For grilled and fried yakitori delights.
2/F, 100 Queen’s Rd E, Wan Chai, 2157 1408.

Yakitoritei – More yakitori goodness..
Shop C, G/F, 49-51, Shing Wo Road, Happy Valley

Basically, what I’m saying is.. yakitori is the best.

2 thoughts on “Nobu? No, boo.

Tell me what you think..

